Holding the Man

This is the third book I’ve read for Bookalicious Babe’s 100 Book Challenge for 2011.

Book Number: 3

Title: Holding the Man

Author: Timothy Conigrave

Back Cover Synopsis: Sometimes there are second acts. When Timothy Conigrave falls in love with the captain of the football team, John Caleo, the two embark on a passionate journey of love, betrayal and forgiveness.

My Thoughts: I follow actor Simon Burke, who starred opposite John Barrowman in La Cage Aux Folles and owns the adorable Erik, on Twitter. When he tweeted that he had a part in Holding the Man and that it was based on the book of the same name, I had to investigate. When I read the synopsis, it sounded like something I’d really enjoy. I love a good love story — and this one was true!

Yeah. In reality, I didn’t enjoy the book. In fact, I didn’t finish it. I got about halfway through it, and I just didn’t feel like going on. I think it’s my problem rather than the book’s problem. It’s a memoir, and I find that kind of writing a little disjointed. And the main character is a teenage boy. I didn’t understand teenage boys when I was a teenage girl. I apparently haven’t changed much in that respect because I just didn’t get him — or like him or care about him.

The book won the United Nations Human Rights Award for Non-Fiction. So lots of people out there obviously like it. But I’d suggest reading the first chapter or so before you buy it to be sure.

Next up: Night Chills, by Dean Koontz.

2 thoughts on “Holding the Man

    1. Isn’t Erik brilliant? I keep playing the clip for my cats and saying, “See, when Erik’s dad throws the paper, he brings it back. Wouldn’t it be fun if you’d bring the paper back when I threw it?” The still seem to think it’s more fun when I fetch the paper and throw it again.

Leave a Reply

